top of page


The Action Team annually recognizes individuals that have made significant contributions to awareness, education and treatment of prostate cancer.  Past award recipients include: Ms. Barbara Pullen Smith, Mr. Al Richmond, Dudley Flood, PhD, SydneyBarnwell, MD, Tracey Krupski, MD, Dr. Charles Blair of Asheville, NC (givenposthumously) and Dr. Leory Darkes.

  • Dudley Flood Service Award, annually awarded to one special individual who embodies the spirit of Dr. Flood’s commitment to education, equity, and his professional and passionate commitment to community.

  • Randy Bazemore Survivor Award, annually awarded to a survivor that carries on Randy’s commitment to providing support to all prostate cancer patients and survivors, with a particular focus on African-American men. Embodying the spirit of Umoja, or unity, the awardee conveys, in both principle and practice, togetherness in all things good and of mutual benefit.

  • Swordbearer of Excellence Award, is annually awarded to one or more individuals who convey a deep and abiding commitment to the mission of the NC Minority Prostate Cancer Awareness Action Team.

bottom of page